News: Australian Legends of Children’s Literature

Written by: Australia Post Media Release
Since 1997 the Australia Post Australian Legends Award has recognised outstanding individuals for their part in shaping the social and cultural life of Australia.
The 2019 Awards celebrate authors for young people: Mem Fox AM, Morris Gleitzman, Leigh Hobbs, Alison Lester and Shaun Tan (who was featured in our Newsletter, December 2017).
Australia Post acknowledged, ‘Their enthusiasm for children’s literacy and the art of storytelling brings pleasure and delight to young audiences, enriching the imaginative and lived worlds of all who engage with their books. But importantly, these exceptional storytellers play a significant role in the intellectual, emotional and social development of their readers and listeners, contributing to generations of grounded and resilient young people. Their stories are compelling, entertaining, humorous and moving, and convey values, life skills, attitudes and strategies for facing the opportunities and the challenges that emerge through life.’
$1 Shaun Tan
‘Born in Fremantle in 1974, author and artist Shaun Tan was brought up in the northern suburbs of Perth. Tan has a distinctive authorial voice, which combines incisive words and often-fantastical illustrations into profound picture books. The stamp design includes the 2001 book The Lost Thing, a meditation on isolation, empathy and belonging. Many of Tan’s books have been published in several languages for international markets and he has won many industry accolades, including an Oscar for the film adaptation of The Lost Thing.
Shaun Tan’s publishers in Australia are Hachette and Allen & Unwin.’
For more information see

Reproduced with permission Australia Post © 2019​